Keep Moving (Expanded Edition)

Compact Disc (2CD)

Union Square Music, BMG


United Kingdom


“Keep Moving” is the fifth studio album by the British band Madness, originally released in February 1984. This album holds particular significance as it was the band’s final release on the Stiff Records label, and the last album featuring the original line-up before keyboardist Mike Barson temporarily left the group. Barson would later rejoin Madness for their Madstock reunion in 1992 and then return full-time in 1999. The album reached No. 6 in the UK Albums Chart and features the fan favourite ‘Victoria Gardens’ plus the singles ‘Michael Caine’ and ‘One Better Day’, both of which reached the UK Singles Chart top 20. This expanded edition also contains 13 bonus tracks including the standalone singles ‘Wings of a Dove’ and ‘The Sun and the Rain’ plus B-sides and alternate mixes.

The 2024 reissue of “Keep Moving” is an expanded edition that offers fans additional content. This version includes 13 bonus tracks, featuring standalone singles like “Wings of a Dove” and “The Sun and the Rain,” along with various B-sides and alternate mixes. These additions provide a comprehensive look at the band’s work during this era and enrich the original album’s context. The CD is is housed in a 6-panel double Digifile with a 24-page booklet with exclusive liner notes by journalist Stevie Chick, which include interviews with band members Lee’ Kix’ ThompsonMike BarsonChrissy Boy ForemanGraham (Suggs) McPhersonDaniel (Woody) Woodgate and Cathal (Chas Smash) Smyth.


Territory: United Kingdom

Release Date: June 23, 2023
Format: Compact Disc (2CD)
Limited Edition: No

Label: Union Square Music, BMG

Catalogue Number: BMGCAT594CD
Barcode: 4 050538 829372

Manufactured: Germany

Disc Colour: Silver
Pressing: 6th Reissue
Release Type: Official


Peak Position: 6
First Chart Date: 03/03/1984
Weeks in Chart: 19
Position DatePosition
03/03/1984 6
10/03/1984 7
17/03/1984 13
24/03/1984 18
31/03/1984 27
07/04/1984 27
14/04/1984 37
21/04/1984 38
28/04/1984 34
05/05/1984 55



1 1 Keep Moving 3:33
1 2 Michael Caine 3:39
1 3 Turning Blue 3:06
1 4 One Better Day 4:06
1 5 March Of The Gherkins 3:30
1 6 Waltz Into Mischief 3:36
1 7 Brand New Beat 3:17
1 8 Victoria Gardens 4:32
1 9 Samantha 3:14
1 10 Time For Tea 3:08
1 11 Prospects 4:15
1 12 Give Me A Reason 3:26
2 1 Wings Of A Dove 2:59
2 2 Behind The 8 Ball 3:01
2 3 One's Second Thoughtlessness 3:26
2 4 Wings Of A Dove Blue Train Mix 6:11
2 5 The Sun And The Rain 3:28
2 6 Fireball XL5 1:45
2 7 My Girl Live 2:56
2 8 The Sun And The Rain Extended Version 4:43
2 9 Michael Caine Extended Version 4:13
2 10 If You Think There's Something 3:09
2 11 Guns 3:15
2 12 Sarah 3:44
2 13 Victoria Gardens Remix 3:51


Mike Barson Piano, Organ, Vibraphone, Marimba, Harmonica Band
Chris Foreman Guitar, Sitar, Slide Guitar Band
Lee Thompson Tenor Saxophone Band
Mark Bedford Bass Band
Daniel Woodgate Drums, Triggers Band
Graham McPherson Vocals Band
Cathal Smyth Backing Vocals, Vocals, Trumpet Band
Michael Caine Spoken Word Special Guest "My Name is Michael Caine"
The TKO Horns Horns Session Musician
Luis Jardim Percussion Session Musician Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Afrodiziak Backing Vocals Session Musician on 'Michael Caine'
General Public Backing Vocals Special Guest Vocalist 'Waltz Into Michief', 'Victoria Gardens'


Producer Clive Langer
Producer Alan Winstanley
Producer, Mixed lan Horne Produced: 'Sarah', Produced & Mixed: 'Fireball XL5'
Producer Secret Seven 'Fireball XL5'
Producer The Nutty Boys 'Behind The 8 Ball'
Producer Hip Young Production 'One's Second Thoughtlessness'
Producer, Engineer Mark O'Donaghue 'One's Second Thoughtlessness'
Recording Studio Air Studios
Mixed Rushent's Mansion Genetic Studios
Orchestrator David Bedford Strings Arrangement: Tracks: 1-12
Engineer Steve Churchyard Recording: Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Engineer Gavin Greenaway Recording: Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Engineer Andy Canelle Recording: Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Engineer Matt Butler Recording: Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Engineer Jim Russell Mixing: Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Engineer, Mixed Phil Tennant Mixing: Tracks: 1-1 to 1-12
Mastering Denis Blackham Mastered at Tape 1
Remastered By Turan Audio Ltd. 2010 remastering by Tim Turan
Graphic Design, Art Direction Martin Callomon
Graphic Design, Art Direction Stiff Art Department Original Graphic Design
Graphic Design Nik Rose Re-jigging And Fettling
Photographer Tony Duffy
Liner Notes Stevie Chick As told to.
Liner Notes Lee Thompson
Liner Notes Mike Barson
Liner Notes Graham McPherson
Liner Notes Chris Foreman
Liner Notes Daniel Woodgate
Liner Notes Cathal Smyth


Copyright © BMG Rights Management (UK)
Phonographic Copyright ℗ BMG Rights Management (UK)
Copyright © Stirling Holdings Limited 2010, 2023
Licensed To Union Square Music Ltd., a BMG Company.


Record Label BMG
Publisher EMI Music Publishing Ltd.


Extensive efforts have been made to gather factual information and knowledge on madness from various sources and document them. These sources include publicly accessible websites, books and publications, historical artefacts, and other pertinent materials. As a result, a comprehensive index of resources has been compiled and integrated into the website. These resources, if relevant to this article, are listed below.

ReferenceSource Website Website Website