Can’t Touch Us Now (Expanded Edition)

Compact Disc (2CD)

BMG Rights Management UK




“Can’t Touch Us Now” stands as a pivotal milestone in Madness’ illustrious career, serving as their eleventh studio album. Originally unveiled to the world in 2016, this album immediately captured the hearts of fans worldwide. Among its standout tracks, “Mr Apples” emerged as an instant fan favorite, quickly becoming a beloved staple in the band’s electrifying live performances. The album marked the return of founder member Mark Bedford but the departure of Cathal Smyth (Chas Smash).

Now, this reissue presents an expanded and enhanced version of the album, offering fans an immersive journey into the Madness experience. In addition to the original CD, this deluxe edition boasts a bonus disc packed with 14 additional tracks, offering listeners a treasure trove of musical delights. Presented in a sleek digipak format adorned with captivating artwork, this reissue also includes a meticulously crafted 24-page booklet. Within its pages, fans will discover brand new exclusive liner notes, featuring in-depth interviews with the band’s charismatic frontman Suggs, saxophonist Lee Thompson, guitarist Chrissy Boy Foreman, and keyboardist Mike Barson.

This reissue not only celebrates the timeless allure of “Can’t Touch Us Now” but also provides a rare glimpse into the creative process behind the album. Through intimate conversations with Madness’ iconic members, fans gain insight into the inspirations, challenges, and triumphs that shaped this seminal work of art. Whether revisiting beloved classics or exploring previously unreleased gems, this expanded edition ensures that the Madness legacy continues to thrive, inviting fans old and new to revel in the boundless energy and irrepressible spirit of one of Britain’s most iconic bands.


Territory: Worldwide

Release Date: May 10, 2024
Format: Compact Disc (2CD)
Limited Edition: No

Label: BMG Rights Management UK

Catalogue Number: BMGCAT599DCD
Barcode: 4099964026153

Manufactured: United Kingdom

Disc Colour: Silver
Pressing: 3rd Reissue
Release Type: Official


Peak Position: 5
First Chart Date: 10/11/2016
Weeks in Chart: 11
Position DatePosition
10/11/2016 5
17/11/2016 16
24/11/2016 29
01/12/2016 37
08/12/2016 40
15/12/2016 46
22/12/2016 39
29/12/2016 33
05/01/2017 49
12/01/2017 60



1 1 Can't Touch Us Now 4:15
1 2 Good Times 2:54
1 3 Mr. Apples 3:39
1 4 I Believe 3:45
1 5 Grandslam 2:36
1 6 Blackbird 4:04
1 7 You Are My Everything 4:09
1 8 Another Version of Me 2:41
1 9 Mumbo Jumbo 3:24
1 10 Herbert 3:58
1 11 Don't Leave the Past Behind You 2:47
1 12 (Don't Let Them) Catch You Crying 4:11
1 13 Pam the Hawk 4:38
1 14 Given the Opportunity 3:32
1 15 Soul Denying 5:14
1 16 Whistle in the Dark 3:32
2 1 Mr. Apples Toerag Mix 3:29
2 2 Grandslam Instrumental Demo Version 2:04
2 3 Mumbo Jumbo Demo Version 3:09
2 4 Good Times Demo Version 3:04
2 5 You Are My Everything Demo Version 4:45
2 6 Another Version of Me Demo Version 3:58
2 7 Blackbird Instrumental Demo Version 3:04
2 8 Herbert Demo Version 3:50
2 9 I Believe Demo Version 3:33
2 10 (Don't Let Them) Catch You Crying Demo Version 3:26
2 11 Pam the Hawk Demo Version 3:51
2 12 Soul Denying Demo Version 5:32
2 13 Whistle in the Dark Demo Version 3:10
2 14 The Last Rag And Bone Man  Demo 3:34


Mike Barson Backing Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Organ, Wurlitzer, Celesta, Mellotron, Glockenspiel Band
Chris Foreman Guitar, Mellotron, Synthesizer Band
Lee Thompson Backing Vocals, Vocals, Tenor Saxophone, Jew's Harp Band
Mark Bedford Bass, Double Bass, Tuba Band
Daniel Woodgate Drums, Programming Band
Graham McPherson Backing Vocals, Vocals, Percussion, Tambourine Band
Joe Auckland Trumpet, Banjo Session Musician Tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 6, 9 to 11, 15
Mike Kearsey Trombone Session Musician Tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 6, 9 to 11, 15
Steve Hamilton Baritone Saxophone Session Musician Tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 6, 9 to 11, 15
Mez Clough Percussion Session Musician
Rachel Lander Cello Session Musician
Charlie Andrew Wurlitzer Session Musician
Ade Omotayo Backing Vocals Session Musician
Johnson Etienne Backing Vocals Session Musician
London Community Gospel Choir Backing Vocals Session Musician
Amy May Viola Session Musician


Producer Clive Langer
Producer, Mixed Charlie Andrew
Mixed Katie Earl
Producer Liam Watson
Producer Madness
Recording Studio Toe Rag Studios
Recording Studio Iguana Studio
Illustrator, Graphic Design Paul Agar Design And Layout
Photographer Ralph John Perou
Orchestrator Chris Foreman Brass: Tracks: 1, 5, 6
Orchestrator Daniel Woodgate Brass: Track: 11
Orchestrator Graham McPherson Brass: Tracks: 5, 6
Orchestrator Joe Auckland Brass: Tracks: 1, 2, 5, 6, 9
Orchestrator Lee Thompson Brass: Tracks: 1, 9, 15
Orchestrator Mike Barson Brass: Tracks: 4, 10 | Strings: Tracks: 7, 10, 15, 16
Orchestrator Mike Kearsey Brass: Tracks: 1, 2, 5, 6
Orchestrator Steve Hamilton Brass: Tracks: 1, 2, 5, 6
Orchestrator Madness Strings: Tracks: 13, 14
Orchestrator Kirsty Mangan Strings: Tracks: 1, 7, 10, 13 to 16


Phonographic Copyright ℗ Lucky 7 Records
Copyright © Lucky 7 Records
Licensed To BMG Rights Management (UK)


Record Label BMG


Extensive efforts have been made to gather factual information and knowledge on madness from various sources and document them. These sources include publicly accessible websites, books and publications, historical artefacts, and other pertinent materials. As a result, a comprehensive index of resources has been compiled and integrated into the website. These resources, if relevant to this article, are listed below.

ReferenceSource Website Website Website